What We Do

History

In 1990 the University of Alberta established a centre for the promotion of teaching, research and curriculum excellence in school science, mathematics and technology education. The Centre was opened by Dr. Martha Piper, VP Research, and the opening presentation was made by Dr. Richard Taylor, then recent Nobel Laureate in physics. Dr. Heidi Kass was the first Director of CMASTE. Following directors were Dr. David Blades, Dr. David Pimm and Dr. Frank Jenkins. CMASTE is now under the direction of Dr. Bob Ritter.

Our invaluable administrative assistants over the years have included Gail Briton and Donna Lauritsen.

Despite its modest budget, the Centre for Mathematics, Science and Technology Education (CMASTE) grew to provide leadership in disseminating current research in science, mathematics and technology education, working with teachers locally and in developing countries, and facilitating opportunities for collaborative work between business, government and education.

A commitment to a role as a national centre remained as a key goal of CMASTE, but reaching this goal requires considerable funding support. A generous donation to CMASTE from Imperial Oil, Ltd. enabled the Executive Board of CMASTE to develop a new national organization built on the foundation of CMASTE: The Imperial Oil National Centre for Mathematics, Science and Technology Education (IONCMASTE). When this funding ended IONCMASTE again became CMASTE.

Our Dream

It is our dream that we can learn from each other, co-ordinate our efforts, and truly make Canadian school mathematics, science and technology education the most innovative, exciting and effective in the world.

Members and Affiliates

CMASTE Staff

Position

Email

Dr. Norma Nocente

Secondary Education

CMASTE Co-Director

norma.nocente@ualberta.ca

Kerry Rose

CMASTE Projects Manager

kerryr@ualberta.ca

Laura Paslawski

Administrative Coordinator

laura.paslawski@ualberta.ca

Members

Email

Projects

Dr. Cathy Adams

Secondary Education

catherine.adams@ualberta.ca

Dr. Patricia Boechler

Educational Psychology

(Educational Technology)

patricia.boechler@ualberta.ca

Dr. George Buck

Educational Psychology

(Educational Technology)

george.buck@ualberta.ca

Lego Robotics

Dr. Mike Carbonaro

Educational Psychology

(Educational Technology)

mike.carbonaro@ualberta.ca

Lego Robotics

Dr. Maria Cutumisu

Educational Psychology

(Educational Technology)

maria.cutumisu@ualberta.ca

Dr. Florence Glanfield

Secondary Education

(Mathematics)

glanfiel@ualberta.ca

Math Academies

Summer Math Camp

Dr. Brenda J. Gustafson

Elementary Education

(Science)

brenda.gustafson@ualberta.ca

Technological Problem Solving

Simple Machines

Beginning ElemSci Teachers

Big Ideas

Dr. Jason Harley

Educational Psychology

(Educational Technology)

jharley1@ualberta.ca

Dr. Mijung Kim

Elementary Education

(Science)

mijung.kim@ualberta.ca

Teacher Training Beijing

Dr. Janelle McFeetors

Elementary Education

(Mathematics)

janelle.mcfeetors@ualberta.ca

Mathematics Academies

Dr. Lynn McGarvey

Elementary Education

(Mathematics)

lynn.mcgarvey@ualberta.ca

Math Explanations PD

Graphing Technology in SH

Mathematics Academies

Dr. Norma Nocente

Secondary Education

(Biological Sciences)

norma.nocente@ualberta.ca

Technology in the Curriculum

Social Inquiry-Climate Change

Informal Science

Scientist 2010

Dr. Jerine Pegg

Elementary Education

(Science)

jerine.pegg@ualberta.ca

Glyconet

Dr. Elaine Simmt

Secondary Education

(Mathematics)

elaine.simmt@ualberta.ca

Mathematics Academies

Teacher Training Beijing

Dr. Greg Thomas

Secondary Education

(Physical Sciences)

gthomas1@ualberta.ca

Affiliates

Email

Projects

Dr. Susan Barker

University of Calgary

vpse@ucalgary.ca

Communication in science Kananaskis Associate

Dr. Robert Bechtel

Faculty of Law,

Faculty of Education

Former CMASTE Associate Director

rbechtal@ualberta.ca

Nanotechnology and Nanoscience

Machine Learning (Artificial Intelligence)

Norway Energy Camp

Dr. Wytze Brouwer

Secondary Education

(Physics) (Retired)

wytze.brouwer@ualberta.ca

Physics Applets (Map 1 - 3)

Evidential Bases

Project ALTA (cosmic rays 1 - 4)

Margarett Ebbers

Margaretha.Ebbers@epsb.ca

Key Ideas

Inquiry into Flight

Shannon Gentilini

shannon.gentilini@epsb.ca

Classroom Chemistry

Sandra Guilbert

lg1@ualberta.ca

Plant Growth

Sun Joo Hur

shur@ualberta.ca

Using Web-based Resource

Solutions and Substances

Dr. Frank Jenkins

Secondary Education

Former CMASTE Co-Director

(Physical Science) (Retired)

fjenkins@telusplanet.net

Dr. Heidi Kass

Co-founder of CMASTE

(Retired)

Dr. Dougal MacDonald

Elementary Education

(Science)

doogmacd@shaw.ca

Technological Problem Solving Simple Machines

Pseudoscience library

Pseudoscience resource

Dr. Joyce Mgombelo

Brock University

jmgombelo@brocku.ca

Teacher Training Beijing

Harcharan Pardan

(past graduate student)

Light Tasks with Mirrors

The Indispensible Plastic Bottle

Sound, Magnetism & Forces

Science Process Skills

Pat Payne

ppayne@ualberta.ca

Children's Science Literature

Dr. David Pimm

Secondary Education

(Mathematics) (Retired)

david.pimm@ualberta.ca

SEQI Thailand Math Ed.

Jrnl For Learning Mathematics

Phoenix Quest

Dr. Robert Ritter

Former CMASTE Director

(Retired)

britter@ualberta.ca

Dawn Rose

(past graduate student)

Buoyancy and Boats

Building & Testing with Materials

Building & Testing Vehicles

Everyone Loves a Parade

Up, Up and Away

Dr. Pat Rowell

Elementary Education

(Science) (Retired)

pat.rowell@ualberta.ca

Social Inquiry-Climate Change

Informal Science

Key Ideas (with M. Ebbers)

Elementary Science Educ.

Children's Science Literature

Scientist 2010

Big Ideas

Dr. Marie-Claire Shanahan

University of Calgary

mcshanah@ucalgary.ca

Dr. Gladys Sterenberg

Mount Royal University

gsterenberg@mtroyal.ca

Children's mathematics literature (a tradebooks biography and library)

Dr. Frank Weichman

Physics Department

(Retired)

weichman@phys.ualberta.ca

Real Life Physics Problems

Annual Reports

The Faculty of Education and the University of Alberta require annual reports for centres. These reports can also serve to describe the variety of activities that the centres involve themselves in. Public access to the CMASTE and IONCMASTE annual reports is provided below. Note that the reports to the Imperial Oil Charitable Foundation reflect the period of time that CMASTE became IONCMASTE--the Imperial Oil National Centre for Mathematics, Science and Technology Education. Many R & D projects were funded by IONCMASTE with IOCF funds.